New Year, New Me. Yeah Right!

 

It’s the last day of the year, and also the last day of this dreaded time of the year where you don’t have much of a purpose. I find this post-Christmas, pre-New Year time to be extremely unproductive. I don’t even know what day of the week it is.

Throughout December the “New Year, New Me” posts on social media have been increasing, with my tolerance for them decreasing.
If I see one more “I’m going to lose weight” post or a “I am focusing on myself this year” or even a “cutting negative people out of my life” post I think I might delete Facebook. No offence.

But this got me thinking about my own resolutions… I too have created a bit of a to-do list of things I want to check-off in the New Year. A semi bucket list. It seems more effective than waiting for the year number to change and reinventing myself only to get stuck in old habits. This way I’m more of a work in progress than a total revamp.

My theme for the year is adventure. Life is really short, like really short. I found a picture of myself from 2006 – that’s nearly a decade ago. In not too long I’ll be two decades old. Times that by five and it’s a century.
You get the picture.

So here’s my to-do list for 2016, and I think it should be yours too.

  1. Smile.
    This may seem stupid, but have you noticed that on the odd chance a stranger happened to smile in your direction your whole day can be so much brighter?
  2. Take photos.
    Moments in life are too precious to not be digitally immortalised.
  3. Make the best of moments of inspiration.
    I have amazing ideas at 2AM. I just need to get my laptop and use them.
  4. Take the scenic route every now and then.
  5. Greet people.
    Walking somewhere with your friends and they stop to greet someone you don’t know? Introduce yourself. Why not?
  6. Hug people.
    I am not a high-contact person but I should become one. Someone’s touch means a lot more than you think it does.
  7. Dish out compliments.
    Don’t lie, but if you see something you like, say it. What do you have to lose?
  8. Travel whenever and wherever you can.
    I am not talking about going on a trip to Europe that’ll cost you thousands, I’m talking about a daytrip to a town around the corner, or taking a hike at a place I can drive to for the day. The smallest, cheapest adventures can be the most exciting and memorable.
  9. Do nice things for people who will never find out.
    Put flowers in the office, leave someone a chocolate.
  10. Loosen up.
    Some things aren’t as important as they seem right now, in Heinz-sight they may mean nothing to you in the end.
  11. Keep it simple.
    Don’t overcomplicate things. They don’t have to be complex to matter.
  12. Have no regrets.
    Don’t get a tattoo on your forehead, but don’t get hung up on something stupid you did that no one remembers.
  13. Live life to the fullest.
    Not only is life short, but in Heinz-sight you’ll regret the things you didn’t do more than the things you did that didn’t work out.
  14. Don’t expect life to be fair.
    It isn’t.

Hello2016

Leave a Reply

